When it comes to new things, my motto is "don't knock it 'til you try it". That is unless that new thing is something like roller coasters, sky diving, or anything that involves speed & height. Then definitely knock it right away...
Anyway, I have been seeing green smoothies everywhere. It's often referred to as "the green monster smoothie". I'm assuming this is due to it's frightening appearance. At first I thought "that looks absolutely disgusting, there's no way I'd drink something that color" and "I'm not quite sure why anyone would drink leaves, seriously gross" but then I read up a bit on green smoothies and decided "hmm maybe it's not so bad".
So, I gave the green drink a try - and it really is good! Spinach has such a mild flavor that it can hardly be detected, and the sweetness of the fruit takes the spotlight. Also - SO many nutrients, barely any calories, zero fat, and it's filling! No wonder this drink is all the rage. I made two versions: (1) strawberries and mango (2) banana and mango. I preferred the addition of banana. It made the drink a bit sweeter and creamier; however, any combination of fruits would work. Keep in mind that if you add darker fruits - your drink may be a bit more brown in color, but the taste will still be great!
I also tried to give up coffee and substitute this drink for my morning cup of joe.
That was a huge fail.
I'm thinking it's more of an afternoon drink anyway :)


0 comments:
Post a Comment